Practical Approaches to Meditation

Meditation Benefits: 10 Ways It Helps Your Mind – PsyBlog

This article is the first in a series about meditation. The 11 articles make meditation a simple task that can be done at any time of day and in many diverse situations.

I know the benefits of a true consistent practice are tremendous, but the way this practice (and the silly mental visualizations that go with it) are described for pain sound more like marketing than therapy.

Additionally, the physical constraints make traditional meditation difficult for an EDS patient like me. Even for 30 minutes, I can neither sit completely still nor make repetitive movements like slow walking without pain.  

I tried the practices that are being urged upon us for meditating with pain, but they do not accommodate an EDS body with its loose connective tissue. All instructions assume it’s possible to find a pain-free position, never considering that chronic pain can make that impossible.

Most body positions are not painful to me initially, but as my muscles strain and stress trying to hold me upright over time, they eventually spasm and I have to stop. After countless experiments, I had almost given up.

However, these amateur-friendly articles from PsyBlog, which don’t focus on pain, are much more encouraging. They show we can reap the benefits even from short meditations of 15 minutes.

Even better, they suggest that we can work little meditation breaks into our lifestyle without making a special time or place for practice. Now that’s something I can do!

PsyBlog series on meditation:

  1. Meditation Benefits: 10 Ways It Helps Your Mind
  2. Meditation Changes How Genes Are Expressed
  3. Cognition Accelerated by Just 4 x 20 Minutes Meditation
  4. How Meditation Improves Attention
  5. Meditation Can ‘Debias’ the Mind in Only 15 Minutes
  6. Meditation is an Effective Treatment for Depression, Anxiety and Pain
  7. Mindfulness: 6 Steps to Better Memory, Verbal Reasoning and Improved Concentration
  8. Mindfulness at School Decreases Chance of Developing Depression
  9. 8 Wonderful Psychological Effects of Being Compassionate
  10. Mindfulness Meditation: 8 Quick Exercises That Fit into Your Day
  11. Meditation: The Minimum Amount That Works

Over the years, I’ve found countless interesting articles about our minds and bodies on PsyBlog, so I encourage you to explore the blog.

3 thoughts on “Practical Approaches to Meditation

    1. Zyp Czyk Post author

      I think the ability to reach a meditative space of complete acceptance of “what is” and openness to “what will be” without all our usual inner self-talk is an excellent tool for self-managing pain, but only if practiced seriously on a regular basis.

      I’ve been working on it for at least half the months of the past 3 years and I still haven’t been able to silence my inner chatter. The strange thing is that even though I keep “failing” at it, I notice my moods seems to be more stable, less easily perturbed.

      Now I’m realize that just making an intentional focused effort to meditate is already “successful” meditation – and I’m definitely benefitting.

      Like

      Reply

Other thoughts?

